A Hindu Wedding

A Hindu Wedding is known as “Vivaha”, and the wedding ceremony is known as Vivaah Sanksar. The holy ceremony is conducted in the language “Sanskrit”.
The rituals and process in a Hindu wedding vary widely from one family to another, or one area to another. Few key ritual ceremonies include “Kanyadaan Panigrahana” and Saptapadi, where the daughter is given by her father to the groom. The magnificent ceremony signifies union between the bride and groom. The primary witness is the fire deity or Sacred Fire Agni, and they celebrate the witness with family and friends.
Before the wedding and after the wedding, multi events take place. Engagement and arrival of groom party for example happens at the bride’s home! Dancers and music entail the entire event.
It is so crucial to know that there are seven sacred steps and vows that must happen for the marriage to be ultimately complete and absolute. Spatadi, the presence of fire, is completed by the bride and groom after the seven steps are accurately followed.
In our next articles, we will also discuss these seven steps for Hindu Marriage to complete its ultimate union , according to both religious and social recognition.
The bride is prepared for a beautiful wedding, by her friends and family. She is dressed in beautiful jewelry, and this body talent of art is known as Mehndi. Henna and Tumeric are the main ingredients , and this body talent resembles awakening of inner light.

Seven Different types of Known Hindu Marriages:
1)    Brahma marriage: This is a very religious marriage, and most relevant. The father who is expected to be a socially aware and educated person proposes the marriage of his daughter to the groom. The groom, bride and families make the marriage work. The two families meet in the ceremony. The groom is decorated. The father gifts away his daughter. A marriage ceremony is then made!
2)    Prajapatya Marriage- Couple agree to get married by exchanging Sanskrit Mantras vows to one another. This form of marriage is considered a civil ceremony.
3)    Arsha Marriage- this marriage entails giving a cow and bull to the father of the bride, and then it is followerd by the father giving his own daughter. The groom promises to fulfill obligations to bride.
4)    Gandharva marriage: couples simply live together out of love, by mutual consent from their families. This marriage without religious agreement, and follows western law for common marriage. It resembles civil marriage.
5)    Asura Marriage- the groom offered a gift to the father of bride. There is agreement to accept the gift out of free will.  Marrying off a daughter for money can be a misunderstanding of this marriage. This marriage is considered inappropriate by Hindu Smriti wirters because the father receives the daughter in terms of money.
6)    Rakhasa marriage: The groom abducts the girl against her family will. This word Rakhasa means devil.
7)    Paishacha marriage- the man forces himself on the women when she is still drunken or drugged and marries her.  It is important to note that in india the last of both marriages above are considered to be religiouslyforbidden.


Create Ad
See All
Feedback? Contact us!  |  Site Map